Cape Coral | Fort Myers | Fort Myers Beach | Estero | Bonita Springs | Naples | Sanibel Island | Captiva Island

Lee County

Lee County is a county in the southwest of the US state of Florida of the United States of America.

Picture showing the florida map highlighting lee county

The county seat is Fort Myers, which has always been the center of a popular tourist area in southwest Florida.

Lee County was founded on May 13, 1887 and named after Robert E. Lee, a general of the American Civil War.

The county has an area of 3,139 square kilometers, of which 1,075 square kilometers are water surface.

It is approximately 190 km south of Tampa, where the Gulf of Mexico and the Caloosahatchee River meet.


The following Lee County cities with corresponding population as of 2019:



Picture showing a Map of major Lee County cities

  • Cape Coral about 198,000
  • Pine Island about 2,400
  • Sanibel Island about 8,700
  • Captiva Island about 1,100
  • Fort Myers about 89,000
  • Fort Myers Beach approx. 9,500
  • Lehigh Acres about 114,000
  • Estero about 32,000
  • Bonita Springs approx. 59,000

    According to the statistic survey in 2010, Lee county with all its incorporated villages had a total of nearly 619,000 inhabitants.



Lee County's History and Culture


Lee County's restaurants and dining experiences


Lee County's famous and world renowned beaches


Lee County's beautiful nature